-newest
-archive
-profile
-search
-notes
Swim

All of this time walking in daydream
Only to find a world that’s not what it seems
Woke up to light that blinded and burned
I flew to close to the sun, wings on fire, lesson learned
Fell from the sky, I don’t think you thought I would drown
But your soul was the sea that pulled me all the way down

There must be more than a pinpoint of love that could be mine
But your star burned so bright that I let it fill the entire sky

It must be possible to swim, there must be a way to not fall in
I won’t stay faithful to something I have no faith in
It must be possible not to drown, to keep my head about me when you’re around
It must be that you are not the best part of me

“It must be possible to swim in the ocean of the one you love without drowning.
It must be possible to swim without becoming water yourself.” *

Standing on the edge of something I can’t explain
Knowing that if I jump, you won’t break my fall, you won’t ease the pain
What is this thing? What are we doing? Your heart is not mine
What is love worth when it happens at the wrong time?

There must be more than a pinpoint of love that could be mine
But your star burned so bright that I let it fill the entire sky

It must be possible to swim, there must be a way to not fall in
I won’t stay faithful to something I have no faith in
It must be possible not to drown, to keep my head about me when you’re around
It must be that you are not the best part of me

I can’t shake you off
Will I hit rock bottom or find the shore?
Trying to keep my head up for air
Will I dive into you or can I swim some more?
Let me stay in the dream

There must be more to life than waiting for someone like you
But your heart burned so bright that you made it so easy to do

It must be possible to swim, there must be a way to not fall in
I won’t stay faithful to something I have no faith in
It must be possible not to drown, to keep my head about me when you’re around
It must be that you are not the best part of me

© Lauren Beth

* 13 Reasons Why, Season 1, Tape 4 Side B
Clay Jenson reading a poem by Hannah Baker
Written by Sarah Kay

<< archive >>